Macrobiotics, facial dignostics and miso soup

The last days at school I had lectures with Steven Acuff, another health expert.

He has been speaking a lot about macrobiotics and eating in a balanced way. He also taught us some basic facial diagnostics which was amazing. It teaches you how to look at a persons face and to find clues to various imbalances and health challenges. I am now acting a little odd on the metro: staring at my fellow passengers to practice my new skills 🙂

Stevens take on nutrition and a healthy lifestyle appealed to me. The macrobiotic way of eating follows the principle of balance, balancing yin and yang. Some foods/substances that are very yin (expanding) are sugar, alcohol, coffee, chocolate, refined flour products, hot spices, chemicals/preservatives, commercial dairy products and poor quality vegetable oils. Yin foods are thought to be over-stimulating thus causing the body and mind to be overexhausted. Foods that are yang (contracting) are denser, heavier and strengthening, but can cause stagnation if eaten too much: poultry, meat, eggs and refined salt.

Whole grains, sea vegetables, beans, nuts/seeds, vegetables and fruit are somewhere in the middle and considered to be balancing foods. I found this principle to be very helpful and practical. Even though I strongly believe in the power of raw and living food I have struggled at times with not feeling balanced on a high raw diet. Now, thanks to my new knowledge I realise it was because I was having too much fruit (sugars)- it was too yin. Breakfast especially has been a challenge, as much as I would like to just have green smoothie for breakfast, it’s just not working for me and my blood sugar. Instead I took Stevens advice and made miso soup and salad for breakfast the last two days.

Miso soup You can use any vegetables/seaweed/grains (brown rice, quinoa etc) you have at home but in mine I put: Onion, garlic, ginger, okra, cabbage, zucchini and carrot. I sautĂ©ed the vegetables in 1 tbsp of organic coconut oil. Then I added some water, kidneybeans, shoyu, rosemary and let it simmer for a few minutes. In the end I mixed in the misopaste, without cooking it.I didn’t have any seaweed at home but arame or wakame would have been nice to throw in there. The key ingredients here are coconut oil, vegetables/sea weed/beans/grains and unpasteurized organic miso paste(which you can find in the health food store). Steven also recommended umeoboshi paste for seasoning. .

To learn more about the health benefits of coconut oil read this informative article on Dr Mercola’s site: http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2010/10/22/coconut-oil-and-saturated-fats-can-make-you-healthy.aspx?np=true


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

